Licenses

I’m still plugging away at listening to the presentations from this year’s ER&L conference (I “attended” as an online participant), and I’ve heard another great idea: save completed licenses as pdf documents. In a sense I’ve been doing this ever since I learned that the Dean’s office copier can send a pdf to my email address, but I’ve just been forwarding the pdf to the publisher (an immensely helpful alternative to international faxing, plus how often do 19-page faxes go through completely on the first try?).

I imagine this is a feature of many ERMs. Perhaps someday we’ll incorporate it into our practices as well.

I’ve been making my way through the CLIR case studies on library workflow redesign, and I was intrigued that the Tri-College Consortium developed a “license for electronic resources purchased by [their] libraries… [so] the colleges would no longer be governed by the terms set by the publisher.” I wonder how that goes down with the publishers (it sounds familiar, too*).

One of my superiors reviews licenses before the dean signs them, and I’ve noticed how frequently he has to contact the publisher to amend the language. Wouldn’t it be great to be on the other side of the table, saying “Here, sign this”?

Update 3/8/07: Found an article in JERDA today about the Ontario Consortium of University Libraries’ development of a model license. Is this more common for consortiums than individual libraries?

Update 6/25/07: On the other end of the spectrum, NISO’s Shared E-Resource Understanding (SERU) looks to streamline licensing and “create a new approach that involves lower overhead“. I learned about this at the NASIG conference.

Posted in Conferences, ER&L, Updates, Workflow. Comments Off on Licenses
