The limits of Collection Editor

EBSCO made a few enhancements to their Collection Editor tool a few months ago that I really appreciate: a search bar for entering the name of the journal (the old process was to search by vendor), and an option to add custom embargo dates (in case they’re missing or incorrect).

One thing I’d love to see is an option to manipulate dates to reflect rolling access. Nobody wants to annually update every title with rolling coverage, so I currently indicate rolling access via the EBSCOhost EJS link by adding an end user access note. But our non-EJS titles aren’t in Registration Tracker, so we can’t add end user access notes to those. Since we regularly add a direct A-to-Z link to the publisher’s site, it would be great if the custom coverage could accommodate rolling access. I’ll mention something to EBSCO.

In the meantime, I suppose I could mess with the “begin” date so it reads “Your access: Rolling coverage – Previous two years to present”. Hmm. I think I’ll try that.

Posted in EBSCO. Comments Off on The limits of Collection Editor
