Re: Sharing eResource duties

There have been two responses to the message on ERIL about sharing e-resource management responsibilities. I was especially pleased to learn about the e-resources team at the University of Mississippi because:

a) they have a Head of Serials position

b) their primary troubleshooter is an e-resources librarian

c) they use Sharepoint to communicate among the six-member team

I think it would be great to have at least a serials librarian position. I like the idea of an e-resources librarian reporting to a broader serials librarian.

And speaking of an e-resources librarian, I wholeheartedly agree that the first line of defense for troubleshooting can be a librarian-level position. That kind of work can be very intricate and involved, requiring professional skills. It makes sense for the librarian to be the first line of defense and coordinate the distribution of troubleshooting reports.

I was excited to see that they communicate in Sharepoint. UVM has Sharepoint, but I don’t know if any Libraries folks are making use of it. It’s an intriguing possibility, and perhaps a band-aid until we acquire a commercial ERM.

2 Responses to “Re: Sharing eResource duties”

  1. wsalesky Says:

    Hiya Toni,
    I know that Special Collections has been using sharepoint. Initially we used it to frame an ongoing discussion we were having about departmental organization. Now Prue has started using it as a wiki for reference and other task related activities. You should chat with her and see how its going, my impression is that is working-out pretty well.
    -Winona

  2. Toni Says:

    Cool. I will talk to Prue. That might also be an interesting subject for a Libraries’ Forum: a look at Sharepoint.
    Speaking of, she just walked in… if that’s not a sign, I don’t know what is!


Comments are closed.

